Can ex’s be friends?

Can ex’s be friends? is a very common question that I think most people will eventually ask at some point in their life and if I am telling the truth, I wish I knew the answer.

I bring this up because I have agreed to go to the cinema with Kieran tomorrow who happens to be an ex boyfriend. And in my head, this can go one of three ways;

  1. It feels completely wrong, we have nothing to talk about and have to endure a movie whilst both of us can think of nothing else but the fact that I ended the relationship and potentially made him miserable
  2. We have a great time but it ends in one of us regaining feelings for the other only to be reminded that we have been down this road before and the ending wasn’t very pleasant which may end in even more misery
  3. We successfully overcome any awkwardness caused by our extensive history, love to movie and part ways as being good, solid friends

Personally, I am a fan of option 3 because the ending is happy, I get to enjoy a good movie and I gain a friend (which is an obvious bonus for a very anti-social person like me!).

But I can’t help but imagine all the ways that this could go wrong and that is without adding my phobia into the mix! But then again, it is human nature to evaluate all the possible if not probable outcomes that may happen if you were to take a risk, purely based on the intent to survive. However, in this case, there really is no threat to my life so I will keep you posted as events unfold!

Stay hopeful!

Update:

In my opinion, ex’s cannot be friends.

This is because, after my attempt, I think that there is too much history because through my entire outing, Kieran kept bringing up the fact that we used to date! Also, he kept making up excuses to touch me and I don’t know whether that is a sign that he wants to get back together but we had agreed that our friendship was going to be entirely platonic. And our trip certainly felt anything but platonic.

But I am making this conclusion purely based on personal experiences and it must be expected that other people have had different results but for now, I believe that once you have dated, it is really hard to be friends!

 

Leave a Reply

